Christ Church Seymour
4 Anzac Avenue Seymour
While Christ Church Seymour today is located at Anzac Avenue, the original church was built on the Old Sydney Road (now Emily Street) in 1863. Back then, the site was the height of activity and many people travelling north – before the Hume Freeway was built – would pass by. On December 13, 1865 the first part of the Church, the nave, was opened. With the coming of the railways, the centre of Seymour moved to Anzac Avenue. In July 1945, the foundation stone of the new Christ Church of Seymour was laid by the third Bishop of Wangaratta, the Right Rev’d Thomas Makinson Armour. It was not, however, until the following January that Bishop Armour dedicated the new church. On Saturday November 27, 1965, Christ Church was consecrated as a House of God by the Right Rev’d Theodore Bruce McCall, Bishop of Wangaratta. On the weekend of 21st-22nd November the Church celebrated its 150th Anniversary of the Dedication of Christ Church Seymour. Bishop John Parkes and his wife Margaret came and took part in the celebration Dinner and Service. History Books are available from the office for $10 & Commemerative pens for $2.
Pictures from the 150th Anniversay Celebrations
Where to find us
Seymour is on the banks of the Goulburn River nestled in a picturesque valley at the base of the Tallarook Ranges. Hidden by parks and walking trails, the Goulburn River meanders it way around Seymour in a semi circle. Seymour is 1 hour from Melbourne, 96km, at the junction of the Hume and Goulburn Valley Highways. . The town functions principally as a service centre to the army base at Puckapunyal, which is an important training centre for the Australian Army, and to the agricultural hinterland.